BLESSED HOPE CH 5: HOPE IN THE BIBLE

I will never forget the severe depression which followed my first manic episode.  I felt lost and hopeless.  I felt like I was in a deep hole with no way out.  However, God was right there for me when I reached out to Him.  He brought the Scripture to hold every thought captive.  I replied, “that is hard to do when my thoughts are racing one hundred words a second.”  However, I realized that this verse was invaluable to me as I faced subsequent manic and depression episodes.  God taught me to head off a potential manic episode through bringing my racing thoughts to Him.  This brought me peace.  I thanked God for giving me this verse to cling to which brought me freedom and hope to face whatever came my way through His Word.

MEMORY VERSE

“For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope” (Romans 15:4, NIV).

HIDDEN GEMS

God’s Word is truth.  It is reliable for us to depend upon.  God desires to make the Scriptures come alive for us.  We can praise God as He opens up His will for us through His Word.

“Never take your word of truth from my mouth, for I have put my hope in your laws” (Psalm 119:43, NIV).

Read Psalm 119:43. What did the psalmist ask of God?

What did the psalmist put his hope in?

We can place our hope in God’s Word.  God speaks to us through His Word.  God will guide and direct our steps as we come to Him in Bible study and prayer.  We will have His peace to face whatever comes our way.

“Your statutes are wonderful; therefore I obey them.  The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple” (Psalm 119:129-130, NIV).

Read Psalm 119:129-130.  How did the psalmist describe God’s statutes?

What did he do as a result?

What does the unfolding of God’s Word do?

Who does it give understanding to?

God’s Word is indeed wonderful.  We can praise Him for giving us His Word.  When we obey God and His Word, we will find true freedom.  It will give light to the path of obedience that we take. 

“Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word about Christ” (Romans 10:17, NIV).

Read Romans 10:17. Where does faith come from?

How is the message heard?

God’s Word is all about Jesus from the very beginning of Genesis to the end of Revelation.  We can share the hope that we have found through accepting Jesus to those who are lost in this world.  We indeed have the good news of the gospel to share and give hope to those who are lost.

YOUR HEART’S DESIRE

“Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path” (Psalm 119:105, NIV).  God’s Word brings light in a dark world.  Those living without Jesus are walking in darkness.  We can praise God for giving us His Word which is a light on our path.

Name a time when you felt hopeless.

How did you feel?

How did you reach out to God?

What Scripture spoke to you during this time?

How did this strengthen your relationship with God?

“Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God” (Ephesians 6:17, NIV).  God’s Word is living and active (Hebrews 4:12).  It is part of our armor that we can use to fight the enemy.  This will bring us victory as we read God’s Word and ask Him to illuminate the words on the page for us to apply them to everyday life and the trials we are facing.

PRAYER

Dear Heavenly Father, I pray that You illuminate my mind to understand Your Word that I am reading this day.  Fill me with timely truth as I go about this day.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

NUGGETS OF WISDOM

I believe the Bible is the best gift God has given to man.  Abraham Lincoln

Ignorance of the Scriptures is ignorance of Christ.  Jerome

Back to the Bible, or back to the jungle.  Luis Palau

When the Bible speaks, God speaks.  B.B. Warfield

I know the Bible is inspired because it finds me at a greater depth of my being than any other book.  Samuel Tayler Coleridge

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started